Skip to content

Shock and moderation

January 23, 2008

This blog does not receive many comments, but from now on all comments will have to go through me and thus be moderated. this became apparent when a couple of ignorant racist bigots commented on this blog.

 I understand this is not a blog about religion, but i shared my beliefs with whoever reads this blog to give the people a side of me that they might not know about. I also talked about my religion because I believe that Islam as a religion has been largely misconstrued and people are just falling into common stereotypes and taking many things out of context.

I attend a private Jesuit university and in its curriculum it stresses theology and philosophy and i have studied both extensively. specifically, i have studied Christianity and Judaism extensively and i have read most of the bible (both old and new testaments).

there were striking comparison between the bible and the qur’an and between Abraham, moses, Jesus and Muhammad. so, its my belief that one cannot criticize one monotheistic religion without it attacking the other monotheistic religions also. remember, we all came from Adam and eve (if you believe in creation), meaning all of us are very distant brothers and sisters.

 I did not appreciate vile comments being spewed by racist ignorant bigots that just don’t know much about someone else’s religion so they just take their shots at it.

I only put up that information to be honest with whoever reads this blog and be informative because I know many people who really don’t know much about Islam and just fall into the stereotypes that ignorant people tend to have. please, if you don’t know something about anything, do your research and if you don’t have anything positive to say, don’t say it at all.

I’m pretty sure America was founded by the pilgrims partly because they wanted religious freedom; that is, they wanted to believe whatever they chose to believe as long as it did not hurt anyone. that was the main reason why my family and I fled the country of Iraq.

All we wanted to do what practice are religion in the privacy of our homes/mosques and not hurt anyone. Islam is a religion of peace and love; its literally means “submission to god”. I am an Iraqi, an American, a Muslim and a Cardinals fan in no specific order.

I have never criticized anyone else’s religion, so please don’t criticize mine or the prophet of my religion. if you are an ignorant person looking to let out your venom, you are not welcome here. please take your ludicrous views elsewhere.

 Thank You

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 3:28 pm

    I’m sorry that you had some classless individuals ruin your discussion of your faith. You may not agree with a person, but that doesn’t give you the right to be insulting and derogatory. There are better ways to discuss religion.

    We may not agree with each other on everything, but we are both Cardinal fans and that’s a great beginning!

  2. January 23, 2008 3:57 pm

    I don’t have a problem with people disagreeing with me or believing in a different religion because everyone has the right to their own opinion and faith; people just need to be respectful to each other and to me (especially because this is my blog and I will not allow such derogatory comments posted here). I’ve been nothing but respectful to everyone I’ve interacted with. people should respect each other as fellow human beings regardless of ethnic background or religion. in the end, we are all human and none of us like to be slandered or disrespected; basically, i just want people to follow the golden rule, “treat others the way you want to be treated”. thanks for the support C70! No matter what my religious beliefs are, I’ll always be a cards fan.

Leave a Reply

