Skip to content

UCB Game Blog: Cards vs. Cubs, Saturday may 3rd, 9th inning

May 4, 2008

I know I’m a little late on this, but I kinda lost track of time because I’ve been studying for finals.

So, the redbird blog covered the 8th inning and the wrap up is on C70’s blog. so, yeah, not much to talk about in the 9th inning.

A. Rey came in in the 8th and had a little problem with control; giving up a single and a couple of walks but getting out of the inning unscathed. the 9th inning was relatively smooth.

it seems to me like tony really does not want to use him; he has relegated him to mop up duty. I’m thinking that reyes will be traded by the all star break or maybe even earlier. it really depends on when mulder is ready to come back.

brendan ryan played a really good game I thought, defensively and offensively. it was weird seeing him hitting in the 2 hole.

I really don’t know what happened to Lohse; he was going good until he blew up all the sudden. I guess I unfortunately predicted this somewhat in my post friday; he gave up plenty of extra base hits and his first homer of the year. that one was a killer.

ted lilly was good for most of the game. he did what he had to to survive. he did leave a couple of pitches up but the hitters missed them. they did the right thing by not pitching to pujols. clearly, he was really frustrated and got himself out in his first or second at bat I think. he really expanded his strike zone and went after pitches outside his comfort area.

the big guy really needs protection; mo needs to get him a clean up hitter that can flat out hit. he does not have to hit for much power, just be able to hit .300 or so and get on base a lot so there would be some kind of threat behind him thats all. alright, that does it for me. game review at C70’s site.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

